GEF's SEED

WWU's GEF Sustainable Energy Efficient Dorm Pilot

It’s All About The Little Things

Did you know: the U.S. would need to plant 30 billion trees a year to absorb the CO₂ it emits.

This leads me to ask: how can I change my everyday habits to reduce my pull on the Earths resources?

For this week’s Eco-Challenge, I focused on environmental awareness in my day to day activities. There is a multitude of ways to incorporate more sustainable practices in everyday life: from washing and cleaning to cooking to shopping. The following are eco-friendly tips I have come to use regularly:

food-sustainability

  • Cook in batchesIt takes less energy to reheat leftovers than prepare new meals.

At the beginning of the week I make vegetable soup to last for the week’s dinners and oatmeal for the week’s breakfast.

dec_2011_laundry_poster

  • Wash clothes on cold – According to Jonna Yarrow in How to Reduce Your Carbon Footprint, “up to 90% of the energy used for washing clothes goes into heating the water.”

hm clothing recycling

  • Buy clothes second hand – According to National Geographic, producing a T-shirt takes “2,700 liters of water, plus it takes a lot of energy to get it from the cotton fields to your closet.”

Approximately 80% of what I wear is second hand. What is not second hand, tends to be gear such as jackets or shoes that will last a long time.

I will continue to add to the list in future blog posts; stay tuned!

– Meriel

SEED is dedicated towards inspiring sustainable habits in residents across campus. If you would like to visit SEED and discover new technologies, eat yummy cookies baked by Libby and Meriel, as well as discuss small changes you can make in your dorm, feel free to drop by BT 514 any Friday between 3 PM to 5PM!

Can’t wait to meet you!

– SEED Team

Comments are closed.